Dlamini defends Uniwisp 3-in-1 Fast Marathon title

It was Nedbank LVCC’s Ntuthuko Maseko who wowed those at the finish line with his marathon first-place finish of just under two and half hours (02:29:39). He was followed just over four minutes later by Graham Malinga and Japie Jele of Nkangala Club.

The women’s 42-kilometre race was dominated by outsider Eunice Nhlapo, who won in a time of 03:03:48, despite suffering from stomach trouble 19 kilometres in. Although she finished way ahead of her closest competition, she was still a little disappointed.

I didn’t expect to win but I was worried about my time as I am working towards the SA champs in Durban.”

Nedbank’s Winile Mnisi finished a quarter of an hour after Nhlapo in a time of 03:19:08. In the women’s half marathon, local star Nontokoza Dlamini crossed the finish line far ahead of her closest competition, Dominique Peel, in second.

Lees ook: Nelspruit Marathonklub se Mgiba doen dit weer

Dlamini kept her shoes on for the whole 21,1 kilometres to finish with a time of 01:27:44. LVCC’s Noria Sibanda finished third in the open section with a time of 01:33:44.

Eskom’s Colin Khoza beat second-placed Tebogo Pulusa from Dwarsrivier by just five seconds in the open men’s race. Khoza completed his 21,1 kilometres in 01:04:34.

Deputy minister in the presidency, Buti Manamela, ran the half marathon and said he loved the race, which he finished in just over two hours.

The route was great and we could not have asked for better weather. Perhaps I will enter the 42-kilometre race next year and hopefully be ready to do my first Comrades,” Manamela said with a laugh.

For every kilometre he ran, 1 000 sanitary pads for young girls were donated to an NGO with which he partners.

“I would encourage everyone to run, but also to run for a cause,” he said.

Also read: Folavio and Nontokoza reign supreme at Van Wettens

This year’s 3-in-1 fast marathon attracted 1 307 entries and organisers were very pleased with the outcome of the event.

“The weather did have a influence on the locals as not all of them ran at the end of the day, but overall we had a very good turnout,” Mariet Erasmus of
Nelspruit Marathon Club said. Every second year, the race is used as a qualifier for Two Oceans and every year, it is a qualifier for Comrades.

“The runners who had to qualify for either Comrades or Two Oceans said that it was a great race, the route suited them and the water points were excellent,” Erasmus said.

Results (open-category winners only)
10 kilometres
1. Abednego Mashaba – 31:16
2. Prince Ndlovu – 31:23
3. Bheki Nkosi – 31:40
1. Thandeka Mnisi – 43:42
2. Phumzile Maphalela – 44:35
3. Ntomba Zodwa – 44:59

21,1 kilometres
1. Colin Khoza – 01:04:34
2. Tebogo Pulusa – 01:04:39
3. Lucas Jani – 01:06:52
1. Nontokoza Dlamini – 01:27:44
2. Dominique Peel – 01:32:38
3. Noria Sibanda – 01:33:44

42,2 kilometres
1. Ntuthuko Maseko – 02:29:39
2. Graham Malinga – 02:33:35
3. Japie Jele – 02:33:38
1. Eunice Nhlapo – 03:03:48
2. Winile Mnisi – 03:19:08
3. Linah Mhlongo – 03:25:03.

• Check out all the detailed results on www.protime.co.za.

Philippa Francis

Latest News


Recommended Story x
Train derailed in Belfast next to N4

Thanx for your referral. We have no doubt your friends will love our newsletter as much as you!

Don't forget to verify your email.

to our FREE newsletter
SUBSCRIBE to our FREE newsletter.

SELECT your titles:

Barberton Times
Corridor Gazette
Hazyview Herald
Mpumalanga News
Nelspruit Post
Steelburger News
White River Post

Your details:

Your friends:

I didn't sign up for this
I'd like to see and read more... (Please indicate in comments section below)
I'm relocating (Please indicate where to)