Lowveld Media excels at Caxton Awards 2016

Top honours went to Helene Eloff, who was named the top multimedia journalist of the year. Here is Irma Green, national group editor, with Helene Eloff.

MBOMBELA – The awards ceremony, held at the Silverstar Casino in Krugersdorp on Thursday night, was themed “Steampunk”, and once again proved Lowveld Media’s publications and employees continue to set the tone and blaze the trail against the other titles in the Caxton Group.

Lowvelder’s coverage on the Lily Mine disaster was also named the impact story of the year with Trevor Hlungwani and the Lowvelder team taking the spoils. The team’s Annatjie Myburgh coverage was named a runner-up in the category.

The best Get it journalist was Nicolene Olckers, with Mellissa Bushby named runner-up.

Get it Lowveld was also awarded for the best written and designed advertorial and promotion for Ciska Kay, Jenni Semmens and Sandile Maluleke’s work on the “Live, work, shop and play” feature about Riverside. Here Sandile Maluleke and Ciska Kay accept their award.

Mpumalanga News editor Bongani Hlatshwayo was awarded with the best newspaper front page for the year.

Lowvelder, Steelburger and Get it Lowveld were named runners-up in their categories, losing out to Zululand Observer as best sold newspaper, Brakpan Herald as free newspaper and Get it Joburg North.

Benno Stander accepted the award for best website for lowvelder.co.za, beating 71 other online sites in the group. Click on the image to visit the website.

A special award was given to Bruce Sturgeon, retired CEO of Caxton Group’s Local Newspapers. Having been an integral part in building the local newspaper division from a handful of titles of more than 120 countrywide, the largest local newspaper stable in South Africa.

Funnyman Riaad Moosa was hilarious as master of ceremonies for the evening. After all the formalities, Matthew Mole entertained the guests and Voltrex had them dancing into the early hours.

See all the winners here

And the winners are…

Read about last year’s awards here

27th Annual Caxton Excellence Awards

Latest News


Next Story x
Joshua Maass op pad na wêreldkampioenskappe

Thanx for your referral. We have no doubt your friends will love our newsletter as much as you!

Don't forget to verify your email.

to our FREE newsletter
SUBSCRIBE to our FREE newsletter.

SELECT your titles:

Barberton Times
Corridor Gazette
Hazyview Herald
Mpumalanga News
Nelspruit Post
Steelburger News
White River Post

Your details:

Your friends:

I didn't sign up for this
I'd like to see and read more... (Please indicate in comments section below)
I'm relocating (Please indicate where to)