Selati Cup kicks off at KaMhlushwa Stadium

From humble beginnings in 2005 with just 32 competing teams, the tournament has grown exponentially in both popularity and attendance, with an impressive 288 teams in 2016.

Today, it is more than just a soccer tournament. As a welcome distraction from their everyday lives, the tournament draws large crowds and pits teams from different villages and areas against each other; creating a healthy competitiveness and sense of community loyalty. Local stadiums are packed on weekends as up to 5 000 spectators flock from far and wide to watch, cheer and support each match. Through their common love of soccer, between 12 000 and 15 000 fans attend the tournament final. Even local government has been humbled by the community’s enthusiasm for the contest, offering their support in the form of municipal stadia and ensuring entrance to each match comes at no cost for fans. In addition, after the 2016 final, the Mpumalanga Premier instructed the Municipality to increase seating capacity at the Kamhlushwa Stadium to accommodate the increasing number of spectators.

2017 sees the rebranding of the tournament with backing from RCL Foods that will take The Selati Cup to new heights.

Another exciting addition to the 2017 Selati Cup is the announcement of a South African soccer legend who as been earmarked as a brand ambassador for 2017 and beyond. This will be unveiled as the tournament kicks off.

Entries have been limited to 128 teams to ensure a smooth operation and flow of event, as well as to guarantee quality soccer entertainment for the fans. The 128 teams that make the draw will be selected from the 21 football streams present in 54 villages across the Nkomazi area through a KNLFA Quota System based on team performance per league stream.
Yesterday, the 9th of March, all 128 teams were drawn at the Kamhlushwa Community Hall, the kick off fixture is tabled below:

Date: Sunday 19 March 2017
Venue: Kamhlushwa Stadium
Locality: Nkomazi Local Municipality
Mpumalanga Province
Match No: Time Home Team vs Away Team
1. 09:00 Block A Naughty Boys vs Mbuzini Bhunya Sundowns
2. 11:00 Sambo Block B United vs Schoemansdal Continental
3. 13:00 Mananga Supersport FC vs Kamhlushwa City Stars FC
4. 15:00 Kamhlushwa Screamer Eleven FC vs Driekoppies Mashaba United

The winning team will be awarded The Selati Cup title and trophy, as well as R100 000 cash, medals, and soccer kit. Runners up will receive R60 000 cash, 3rd place will receive R35 000 and 4th place will receive R25 000. The top 4 teams will receive soccer kits and each of the 128 participating teams will receive cash monies in a tiered reward system. The Selati Cup kicks off on Sunday the 19th of March and runs until Sunday the 4th of June 2017, where the final will be held at KaMhlushwa Stadium in Mpumalanga.

Latest News


Next Story x
PREVIEW: Human trafficking sentence is upheld