Nkangala runner sets the bar high

Nearly 400 participants completed the 10-kilometre race, as well as increased numbers on the
21,1 kilometre and the fun run. The race started with a moment of silence to honour friends and family who had passed on and after a memorial wall was decorated with photos, the runners were off.

The competition was fierce for the top spots, especially in the 21,1 kilometre between Graham Malinga from Nkangala and Abednico Mashaba from Born to Win, but despite pushing it to the limits, the latter could not close the two-minute gap. Graham set the bar high as he ran a full two minutes faster than last year’s winner, Lovers Hlatshwayo, taking the spoils in a time of 01:13,20.

Also read: Hundreds take on Bateleur Memorial Run

Angeline Malobo was the first woman to cross the finish line, in a time of 1:42,48, followed by Chantel van Niekerk with 1:51,42.

In the 10-kilometre race, Folavio Sehohle managed to cross the finish line in 33:14. The fastest woman of the day was Nontokozo Dlamini, who finished in 44:50. Hot on her heels was Princess Ndimande, who was awarded a time of 46:25.

On the fun run the pace was relaxed with dogs and prams being the order of the day. Nedbank LVCC running club was again involved in organising and presenting the race, and continues to make it a huge success. For the full list of results, visit www.raceresults.co.za.

Also read: Folavio and Nontokoza reign supreme at Van Wettens

Latest News


Recommended Story x
Folavio reclaims Selati crown